The Greater Mt Airy Chamber of Commerce – Leadership

Scholarships Page


The scholarships have been awarded for 2008. We hope to receive your application next year.


Download the Scholarship application


Please send questions to


Each year, the applications must be submitted by March 31. The scholarships are awarded at the General Membership Meeting in May.


It is the mission of the Greater Mount Airy Chamber of Commerce ( “Chamber”) to promote business and professional services in the greater Mount Airy, Maryland area. To further our mission, the Chamber has established a $2,500 annual scholarship (“Scholarship”) to be awarded to a select student.  An additional scholarship(s) totaling up to $1,000 may be awarded at the discretion of the Chamber.

The award is an outright gift, not a loan to be repaid or a salary to be earned by performing certain duties.  It will be awarded as a one time payment made directly to the institution of acceptance upon presentment to the Chamber of evidence of registration at a qualified educational institution. The Scholarship is a one time gift and is not renewable in subsequent years, however, students my reapply regardless of previous award. Though it is expected that a student will be chosen to receive the Scholarship, the Chamber may choose to not make an award in any given year.

The Scholarship is not intended merely to further the education of an aspiring student, but to recognize and assist those students who share the vision and values of the Chamber and show potential of contributing to the greater Mount Airy community.

The Awards for 2008

The scholarships for 2008 were awarded at the May General Membership meeting. The first place winner was Sharon Comer who recieved $2,500.00. The second place winnder was Emily Ann Perper, who recieved $1,000.00.

Pictured above are Tim Slane (Chair), Aaron Kahn (Co-chair), Emily Ann Perper, Sharon Comer, and Howard LaRoux

The committee also asked last years winners for feedback on how they are doing one year later. Click here to read Sharon Comer’s letter, which was one of several responses.

The Awards for 2007


The Greater Mt Airy Chamber of Commerce proudly announces the winners of its 2007 scholarship awards. First place winner is Jennifer Caffrey of Urbana High School, who has been awarded $2,500.00; and 2nd place winner is Sharon Comer of Linganore High School, who has been awarded $1,000.00.

Pictured (left to right) at the Chamber’s membership meeting June 7th, are the winners with members of the Chamber’s Scholarship Committee: Melinda Byrd, Jennifer Caffrey, Tim Slane Sr, Sharon Comer, Aaron Kahn and Howard LeRoux.

Scholarship committee members Howard LeRoux, Aaron Kahn, Melinda Byrd and Tim Slane.

Site Search:

Interested In Sponsoring These Pages?
Please Contact
Brian Jacobs
(301) 865-5916